About the Mayor's Youth Advisory Board

About the Board  

The Mayor’s Youth Advisory Board (MYAB) was established in 2000 to provide a voice for youth in our community. This ad–hoc committee consists of 20 members from Beaverton area high schools. MYAB members are students at Aloha, Arts and Communication, Beaverton, Catlin Gabel, Jesuit, School of Science and Technology, Southridge, Sunset, Valley Catholic and Westview high schools. Students are selected by the Mayor to serve on the Board for a two-year term through an open application process.

MYAB reports to the Mayor and City Council on issues of concern to youth. MYAB’s mission is to serve the common good of the community and provide a voice for youth in decisions and policies of the city. MYAB focuses on community service projects, promoting youth activism.


MYAB has six elected officers:

  • Sofia Al-Bawani – Co-Chair
  • Cameron Monfared – Co-Chair
  • Sophia Slack – Vice Chair
  • Ethan Myers – Civic Affairs Officer
  • Karenna Umscheid – Secretary
  • Maya Bedge – Social Media Officer
MYAB members with Congresswoman Suzanne Bonamici and Mayor Denny Doyle.
Culturally diverse MYAB members taking a selfie.