Decision Makers

The Director

The Community Development Department Director (the Director), or their designee, makes decisions on all Type 1 and Type 2 land use applications. Type 1 and Type 2 land use decisions are non-discretionary and must be based on clear and objective standards. No public hearing is required beforehand for the Director to make a Type 1 or Type 2 land use decision.

Planning Commission

The Planning Commission rules on land use development applications that require public hearings. The Commission also reviews legislative changes to the city's Comprehensive Plan and Development Code. Legislative changes are changes that create or amend land use policies, rules and procedures for development in the city.

The Commission consists of seven members appointed by the Mayor and confirmed by the City Council for 3-year terms. The commissioners are volunteers who are intended to represent the community at large. Their decisions are final unless appealed. One exception is a land use application that requires the adoption of an ordinance. In those cases, the Commission's decision serves as a recommendation, and the adoption of the required ordinance is placed on the City Council's consent agenda for formal adoption.

City Council

The City Council reviews appeals of Planning Commission decisions. The City Council is made up of five members, each elected at-large to serve a four-year term. The Council sets policy and oversees the budget for the city. The Mayor also sits on the Council and chairs the Council meetings. The Mayor only votes to break a tie vote. As City Administrator, the Mayor also has veto power over council actions that have to do with legislative actions such as ordinances. The Council may override such a veto.

Beaverton City Councilors Mark Fagin, Betty Bode, Cate Arnold, Lacey Beaty, Marc San Soucie.

Planning Commission and City Council are the bodies that hear development applications within the city. For information on bodies that make decisions regionally and statewide, refer to State and Regional Decision Makers.